Political Science Degrees and Programs

The Department of Political Science offers a B.A. in Political Science and a minor in Political to accompany other majors. 

Requirements for the Major in Political Science (51 units)

All majors must satisfactorily complete at least twelve courses in Political Science, of which at least nine must be at the upper-division level.  Required lower and upper-division courses for majors must be completed with a grade of "C-" or better.  Students who fail to achieve a "C-" or above may repeat the course.  The Department encourages students to develop their degree plans in close consultation with their faculty advisor. 

Please note that the Political Science Department is likely to offer some courses, or sections of the course, in "hybrid," that is partly online or partly face-to-face, or entirely online. During registration please consult course listings in PeopleSoft where such courses are identfied.

Course Catlog Requirements and Course Descriptions Listed Below

Open All/Close All

Course Catalog

To find out more, go to: Political Science Course Catalog

Course Descriptions

To find out more, go to: Political Science Course Descriptions

"Waiver" Exams

The Department administers the U.S. Constitution and California State & Local Government exams for students seeking to satisfy these State requirements without taking a course.  There is a fee for the exam administration.  Students are allowed to take the exam twice.   Consult the Department office to find out the test dates for the Spring 2019 semester, how to prepare for either exam and to sign up for the exam.  The Department administrative coordinator is the primary contact person.  Email cochoa@csub.edu with any questions.