Understanding the Academic Year Payment Schedule

Academic employees are paid on State pay dates which are set by the State Controller's Office.  Pay dates are normally the last workday of each month or the first workday of the following month and may be viewed on the Payroll Calendar. Academic employees are paid on a 12 month pay schedule, beginning with the first month of employment.  Employees appointed quarter by quarter receive four pay warrants per quarter and are paid as indicated below for the following pay periods:

Fall Only September - December
Winter Only January - April
Spring Only April - July
Fall and Winter September - April
Winter and Spring January - August
Full Academic Year September - August

Special note:  The August pay period is used as the settlement month for academic employees who change timebase (weighted teaching units) between Winter and Spring quarters. This includes employees on Fall/Winter sabbatical; Spring leaves without pay, and late-start academic appointments Winter or Spring quarter. Payments would be January through March pay periods at Winter quarter time base, April through July pay periods at Spring quarter time base and August settlement warrant at Winter quarter time base. Academic employees starting Spring quarter will be paid April through July only and will be placed in a non-pay status for August pay period. The 12-month pay cycle would begin for those employees with the September pay period and continue through the August pay period.

2016/17 Academic Year Payment Schedule - NEW