STD Logo

    Sigma Tau Delta
The English Honor Society


           CSUB ENGLISH CLUB    

Sigma Tau Delta Seal


Current Officers


Scholarships and Awards

A Brief History of 
Sigma Tau Delta

Pledge and Motto

Constitution and By-Laws

Sigma Tau Delta Home

English Department


    A Brief History of
Sigma Tau Delta

A Brief History

In May of 1924, at Dakota Wesleyan College in Mitchell, South Dakota, Professor Judson Q. Owen founded Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society. His purpose was to recognize the excellence in scholarship and accomplishments of English students in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies. Today, the society is international and includes more than 600 chapters. Each chapter is unique, reflecting the identity of its school and individual members, but their collective goal remains the same as that of their founder - the advancement of the study of language and literature.

Major Activities

  • Publication of The Rectangle, an annual literary magazine.

  • Biannual publication of The Newsletter.

  • Awarding of the Judson Q. Owen Award of $1,500 in creative writing.

  • Awarding of the Eleanor B. North Award of $750 in poetry.

  • Awarding of the Frederic Fadner Award of $750 in critical writing.

  • Awarding of the Herbert L. Hughes Award of $750 in short story.

  • Awarding of annual scholarships and fellowships of $2,000 - $2,500.

  • Awarding of several "Outstanding Chapter" awards of $300.

  • Annual international convention and regional conventions.

Home | Current Officers | Events | Scholarships and Awards  
A Brief History of STD | Pledge and Motto | Constitution and By-laws | English Department

Sigma Tau Delta Logo Two

Copyright 2005-2006 CSUB English Club/Xi Tau Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta
Questions? Comments? Contact the