Department Chair

Dr. Kristina LaGue
Dr. Kristina LaGue
Department Chair
Professor
Phone (661) 654-6546
E-mail klague@csub.edu
Office EDUC 122

More Information

Education:
Dr. Kristina LaGue received her Ph.D. in Education with a specialization in Language, Literacy, and Composition Studies in 2006. Dr. LaGue has dedicated the past twenty years of her career to education in Kern County ranging from teaching second grade in the Delano Union School District to serving as a Reading Specialist and is currently a Professor and Department Chair of Teacher Education at CSU Bakersfield. Dr. LaGue grew up in Porterville, CA, and is committed to teacher preparation because she understands the transformational nature of providing access to high quality education to individuals who serve the central valley of CA, some of the most vulnerable kids, families, and communities in the state. Dr. LaGue’s research interests include studying innovative approaches to teacher preparation, primarily the impact of teacher residency programs in preparing teachers to provide equitable education to diverse students.

Faculty

Dr. Brittney Beck
Dr. Brittney Beck
Assistant Professor
Phone 661-654-3062
E-mail bbeck4@csub.edu
Office EDUC 222

Rhonda Conte
Rhonda Conte
Placement and Co-Teaching, Antelope Valley
Phone (661) 952-5036
E-mail rconte@csub.edu

More Information

Education:

Rhonda Conte received her Master of Arts Degree in Education, Curriculum & Instruction from California State University, Bakersfield in 1994. Rhonda grew up in Missouri and earned her Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education from Central Missouri State University in 1986.  She taught various grades in Missouri and Antelope Valley Schools before earning her Reading Recovery Teacher Leader Certificate from California State University, San Bernardino in 1997 which changed her focus to working with struggling readers.  Since beginning her higher education career at California State University, Antelope Valley over 20 years ago, she has focused on literacy instruction and co-teaching models in student teaching.


Jesus Esquibel
Jesus Esquibel
Lecturer, TQP Grant
Phone (661) 654-3908
E-mail jesquibel@csub.edu
Office EDUC 221

Dr. Bre Evans-Santiago
Dr. Bre Evans-Santiago
Assistant Professor
Phone 661-654-3958
E-mail bevans9@csub.edu
Office EDUC 120

More Information

Education:

Dr. Bre Evans-Santiago is an Assistant Professor at CSU Bakersfield.  She received her Ed.D. with a focus on culturally relevant pedagogy at Illinois State University in 2015. Dr. Evans-Santiago grew up in both California and Illinois.  She taught for 15 years in PK-8 in San Bernardino and La Cañada, CA, Washington D.C., and Bloomington, IL. Connecting with her intersecting identities, Dr. Evans-Santiago continues to research issues in education as they relate to underrepresented populations. She is also one of the key leaders with Kern Urban Teacher Residency as she works with WestEd, SRI and the National Center for Teacher Residencies to evaluate teacher preparation and provide insight for program improvement.


Holly Gonzales
Holly Gonzales
Educational Coordinator, Kern Urban Teacher Residency
Phone 661-654-2478
E-mail hgonzales@csub.edu
Website http://www.kernurbanteacherresidency.org
Office EDUC 224

More Information

Education:
Holly Gonzales is a first generation college graduate and CSU Bakersfield alumnus. She earned her Bachelor's degree in Liberal Studies and a multiple-subject teaching credential in 2008, and earned her Master's in Education in 2009. Holly served the students in the Bakersfield City School district for 8 years, as an elementary classroom teacher and Academic Coach. She began her journey in higher education in 2016 as Educational Coordinator for the Kern Urban Teacher Residency and also serves as an adjunct faculty member in Teacher Education. She strives to share her love and passion for serving students in Kern County by modeling a positive growth mindset.

Dr. Alice Hays
Dr. Alice Hays
Assistant Professor
Phone 661-654-3129
E-mail ahays2@csub.edu
Office EDUC 118

More Information

Education:

Dr. Alice Hays received her Ph.D. in English Education from Arizona State University in 2017. Dr. Hays was previously a secondary English teacher in Arizona for 19 years prior to starting her doctoral pursuits. Additionally, she taught several community college composition courses, and education courses for pre-service teachers at ASU.  She is currently an Assistant Professor in Teacher Education at CSU Bakersfield. Dr. Hays is excited to share her experience and learned wisdom with teachers, and is passionate about supporting teachers as they develop innovative ways to address literacy issues. Dr. Hays’ research interests include young adult literature, participatory action research and teacher education.

 


Anaya  Lee
Anaya Lee
Lecturer
Phone 661-654-2451
E-mail alee51@csub.edu
Office EDUC 217

Dr. Corey Mathis
Dr. Corey Mathis
Assistant Professor
Phone 661-654-3565
E-mail cmathis@csub.edu
Office EDUC 116

Anne O'Bannon
Anne O'Bannon
Single and Multiple Subject Credential Advisor
Phone (661) 654-6744
E-mail aobannon@csub.edu
Office EDUC 106

Kristen Ramirez
Lecturer, Antelope Valley
Phone (661) 952-5080
E-mail kramirez@csub.edu
Office AV 308

Dr. Stacy Schmidt
Dr. Stacy Schmidt
Director of Teacher Education, Antelope Valley Campus
Phone (661) 952-5084
E-mail sschmidt3@csub.edu

Dr. Mahmoud Suleiman
Dr. Mahmoud Suleiman
Professor
Phone (661) 654-3032
E-mail msuleiman@csub.edu
Office EDUC 136

Dr. Beverly Tyler
Lecturer, Antelope Valley
Phone (661) 952-5029
E-mail btyler@csub.edu

Robin Valente
Robin Valente
Educational Coordinator, Kern Rural Teacher Residency
Phone 661-654-2458
E-mail rvalente@csub.edu
Website http://www.kernruralteacherresidency.org
Office EDUC 223

Staff

Eric Anderson
Evaluator, Antelope Valley
Phone (661) 952-5083
E-mail eanderson@csub.edu

Jayme Barton
Jayme Barton
Evaluator, Multiple and Single Subject, Main Campus
Phone (661) 654-3075
E-mail jbarton5@csub.edu
Office EDUC 134

Paula Francis
Paula Francis
Administrative Support Coordinator II
Phone (661) 654-3134
E-mail pfrancis@csub.edu
Office EDUC 117

Stephanie Prielipp
Stephanie Prielipp
Credential Analyst II
Phone (661) 654-3074
E-mail sprielipp@csub.edu
Office EDUC 135

Amanda  Thrasher
Amanda Thrasher
Assessment Coordinator
Phone (661) 654-2091
E-mail athrasher@csub.edu
Office EDUC 133