Alerts: COVID-19 | Return to Campus | CARES Act

Services for Students with Disabilities

The Mission of Services for Students with Disabilities (SSD) is to provide support services that enable every student, regardless of disability, to have access to a University education at CSU Bakersfield. 

The goals of SSD are to:

  • Act as a catalyst and agent for compliance with Federal and State laws and regulations mandating equal opportunity and access for persons with disabilities
  • Provide appropriate accommodations and resources to students with verified permanent or temporary disabilities
  • Provide appropriate assessment for students to identify accommodations and services necessary for academic access
  • Work with faculty, administration, and staff to create and maintain an inclusive and supportive environment where individuals with disabilities have full and equal access to all university programs
  • Remain abreast of best practices and trends in post secondary education of the disabled

 

Due to COVID-19, SSD is closed to walk-in traffic. SSD will continue to provide support services to students using Zoom, phone, and email as appropriate. For assistance, please contact us at ssd@csub.edu or 661-654-3360.

 

                               Apply for services

  

NVRA Voter Preference Forms | California Secretary of State
https://www.sos.ca.gov/elections/voter-registration/nvra/training/voter-preference-forms/

 

Online Voter Registration | California Secretary of State
https://registertovote.ca.gov/

 

 

WHO ARE WE?  Staff Photos

Janice Clausen - Director - Office: SA 142 jclausen@csub.edu

Jason Watkins - Assistant Director of Programs and Services - Office: SA 143 jwatkins4@csub.edu 

Patrick Choi - Assistant Director - Office: SA 141 pchoi@csub.edu

Gary Longwith - Learning Disabilities Specialist - Office: SA 144 glongwith@csub.edu

Debbie Trunkey - Program Assistant - Office: SA 140 dtrunkey@csub.edu

Patricia Raya - Testing Assistant - Office: SA 140 praya2@csub.edu

Mary Norton - Staff Interpreter - Office: SA 140 mnorton@csub.edu

Leonard Perez - Disability Advisor - Office: SA 140 lperez5@csub.edu

Shelly Brooks - Disability Management Counselor, Antelope Valley - Office: CSUB AV 202 mbrooks4@csub.edu

For more information, click on the links at the left. 



Services for Students with Disabilities

California State University, Bakersfield
9001 Stockdale Highway 55SA
Bakersfield, CA 93311-1022

Phone: (661) 654-3360
TDD: (661) 654-6288
Fax: (661) 654-2171

The Services for Students with Disabilities Office is located at SADM 140, which is adjacent to the Academic Advancement Center and just across Payroll. The nearest parking is in Lot F. Access to our office from Lot F is up the ramp, a right turn by the Payroll windows, and another immediate right turn.

Office Hours:  Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm

Section 504 Compliance/ADA Coordinator

The designated Section 504 Compliance Officer/ADA Coordinator is Marcus Brown, J.D., Director of Equity, Inclusion, and Compliance.  Mr. Brown is located in the President's Office, BDC E100.  He may be reached at 661.654.2713 or mbrown59@csub.edu.