COVID Screening | Upload Vaccine Card | Submit Exemption | COVID-19

Department Chair

Dr. Yeunjoo Lee
Dr. Yeunjoo Lee
Department Chair
Phone (661) 654-6478
Fax (661) 654-2479
E-mail ylee@csub.edu
Office EDUC 219

More Information

Other:

Dr. Lee is a Professor of Special Education and the Chair of the Advanced Educational Studies department. She earned two Master of Arts degrees (Intellectual Disabilities and Therapeutic Recreation) and a Doctor of Philosophy Degree (Special Education) from the University of Georgia. Since she joined CSUB in 2001, she has developed numerous new courses and taught multiple classes in technology, moderate/severe disability, early childhood special education, and educational research. Her research interests are in the areas of teacher preparation, intellectual disabilities, and assistive technology.  She also served as a Principal Investigator of Project PURPOSE (Preparation Using Research-based Practices to Optimize Special Education, 2014-2019), a federal grant award from US DOE, and a co-PI for the CSUB Integrated Teacher Education Program, a grant award from California Commission on Teacher Credentialing.


Full-time Faculty

Matthew Kabel
Matthew Kabel
Program Advisor, Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-6214
Fax (661) 952-5122
E-mail mkabel@csub.edu
Office EDUC 212

More Information

Other:

Matthew Kabel is a Special Education Lecturer, University Advisor, and Intern Supervisor at California State University, Bakersfield (CSUB). Matthew has an Education Specialist Credential and a Master’s in Special Education from CSUB. He worked in K-12 education for 11 years before transitioning to the Department of Advanced Educational Studies at CSUB. During his time in K-12 education Matthew worked as an American Sign Language (ASL) Interpreter, a Special Day Class (SDC) teacher, and Resource Specialist Program (RSP) teacher in both elementary and secondary education. Additionally, he co-wrote the Scaled-Up Multi-Tiered System of Support (SUMS-MTSS) grant for his district and led the MTSS team for two years. The focus of this framework is to re-align state, regional, county, district, school, community, and families towards supporting all student's academic, behavioral, and social-emotional needs by utilizing evidence-based practices (EBP). During this time, he was brought onto the Social-Emotional Learning (SEL) team to support student's social and emotional development. Matthew is currently the President of the California Association of Resource and Specials Educators Plus (CARSplus). CARSplus is the largest association of special educators in the state of California. The association’s goal is to support special educators so they can do their best work in growing and supporting students with special needs.


Diane McNett
Diane McNett
Antelope Valley Program Coordinator, Lecturer
Phone (661) 952-5089
Fax (661) 952-5122
E-mail dmcnett@csub.edu
Office AV 309

More Information

Other:

Mrs. McNett has been a member of the CSUB Special Education faculty since 2011. She is passionate about teaching and has taught every grade level from pre-k – 12th grade. She has taught both General Education and Special Education (Special Day Class, Resource Class and Inclusion). At the District Level Mrs. McNett served as Department Chair and Intern Mentor. Mrs. McNett earned her degree in Liberal Studies from the University of California at Santa Barbara. She earned her Multiple Subject Teaching Credential from CSUN and her Education Specialist Credential and Master’s Degree in Special Education at CSUB. She enjoys having the opportunity to mold and shape the future teachers of exceptional students.


Dr. Sarana Roberts
Dr. Sarana Roberts
Program Director, Assistant Professor
Phone (661) 654-2527
Fax (661) 654-2479
E-mail sroberts21@csub.edu
Office EDUC 218

More Information

Other:

Dr. Sarana Eyire Roberts is an Assistant Professor of Special Education in the Advanced Educational Studies Department. She works with students who are at risk of academic failure and students with disabilities to improve reading, vocabulary, language development and self-efficacy in each of these areas. In addition, she works to advance practices in Teacher Education for special education teachers. At CSUB, Dr. Roberts is a university supervisor, clinical practice instructor, and teaches core courses in the Special Education Credential Program. 


Part-time

Jane Brown
Special Education Lecturer
Phone (661) 952-5080
E-mail jbrown6@csub.edu

Nancy  Collins
Nancy Collins
Lecturer
Phone (661) 952-5080
E-mail ncollins@csub.edu

Linda Fiddler
Linda Fiddler
Special Education Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-3055
E-mail lfiddler@csub.edu

Anthony  Goss
Anthony Goss
Special Education Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-3055
E-mail agoss4@csub.edu

Jillian Kabel
Special Education Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-3055
E-mail jkabel@csub.edu

Salvador Lopez
Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-3055
E-mail slopez10@csub.edu

Angelica Martinez
Special Education Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-3055
E-mail amartinez275@csub.edu

Wesley Neal
Wesley Neal
Special Education Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-3055
E-mail wneal@csub.edu

Susan Norman
Special Education Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-3055
E-mail snorman@csub.edu

Julie Peña
Special Education Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-3055
E-mail jpena30@csub.edu

Julius Steele
Special Education Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-3055
E-mail jsteele8@csub.edu

Mario Uresti
Mario Uresti
Special Education Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-3055
E-mail muresti1@csub.edu

Staff

Julia Bavier
Admissions & Graduation Advisor (Bakersfield Campus)
Phone (661) 654-3193
Fax (661) 654-2199
E-mail jbavier@csub.edu
Office EDUC 130

Ryan Otawka
Department Coordinator
Phone (661) 654-3055
Fax (661) 654-2479
E-mail rotawka@csub.edu
Office EDUC 238

Stephanie Prielipp
Credential Analyst
Phone (661) 654-3074
Fax (661) 654-2277
E-mail sprielipp@csub.edu
Office EDUC 135

Jenny St. George
Admissions & Graduation Advisor (Antelope Valley Campus)
Phone (661) 952-5083
Fax (661) 952-5122
E-mail jst-george@csub.edu
Office AV 303

Amanda Thrasher
Assessment & Records Coordinator
Phone (661) 654-2091
Fax (661) 654-2277
E-mail athrasher@csub.edu
Office EDUC 133