COVID Screening | Upload Vaccine Card | Submit Exemption | COVID-19

Department Chair

Janet Armentor, Ph.D.
Janet Armentor, Ph.D.
Professor of Sociology
Department Chair
Phone 661-654-2553
E-mail jarmentor@csub.edu
Office DDH AA208

More Information

Education:
Ph.D., 2005, Syracuse University
Teaching:
Introduction to Sociology, Gender, Inequality, Qualitative Research Methods, Social Problems, Service Learning, Senior Seminar
Other:
Areas of Interest: Inequality, Gender, Medical Sociology, Qualitative Methods, Teaching and Learning

PROFESSORS

Rhonda Dugan, Ph.D.
Rhonda Dugan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
Phone 661-654-6613
E-mail rdugan2@csub.edu
Office DDH AA202

More Information

Education:
Ph.D., 2005, University of Illinois, Chicago
Teaching:
Introduction to Sociology, Introduction to Research Methods, Race and Ethnic Relations, African American Experience in the United States, Cultural Sociology, Popular Culture, Senior Seminar

Kent Henderson, Ph.D.
Kent Henderson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Phone 661 654-6279
E-mail khenderson14@csub.edu
Office DDH AA/201

More Information

Education:

Ph,D. 2018, Stony Brook University

Teaching:
Environmental Sociology, Globalization and Social Change, Introduction to Statistics in Sociology, and Quantitative Methods.
Research:

Dr. Henderson's research interests include environmental sociology, political economy, and international organizations. His research has been published in several peer-reviewed journals including The Journal of World-Systems Research, Environmental Sociology, andSociology of Development.

Other:
CV

Isabella Kasselstrand, Ph.D.
Isabella Kasselstrand, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone 661-952-5095
E-mail ikasselstrand@csub.edu
Office AV Building 400, Room 405

More Information

Education:
Ph.D., 2014. University of Edinburgh
Teaching:

Sociology of Religion; Quantitative Analysis; Statistics for Sociology; Research Methods; Classical Sociological Theory; Globalization; Introduction to Sociology

Research:

Sociology of Religion and Secularity; Secularization; Cultural Religion; Religion in Northern Europe; Quantitative and Mixed Methods

Google Scholar Profile: https://scholar.google.com/citations?hl=en&user=nnxGN_kAAAAJ

Alem Kebede, Ph.D.
Professor of Sociology
Phone 661-654-2306
E-mail akebede@csub.edu
Office DDH AA206

More Information

Education:
Ph.D., 1999, Oklahoma State University 
Teaching:
Classical Sociological Theory, Contemporary Sociological Theory, Advanced Sociological Theory, Social Psychology, Advanced Social Psychology 

Jonathan Leif Basilio Ph.D.
Jonathan Leif Basilio Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone (661) 654-2390
E-mail jbasilio@csub.edu
Office DDH CC203

More Information

Education:

PhD, 2018, University of Manchester, UK


Edna Molina Jackson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
Phone 661-654-6876
E-mail emolina3@csub.edu

More Information

Research:
  • Urban Poverty and Homelessness
  • Communities and Institutions
  • Hispanic Higher Education and Hispanic Serving Institutions
  • Teaching the Sociology of Happiness.

Marisa Sanchez,  Ph.D.
Marisa Sanchez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone 661.654.6264
E-mail msanchez110@csub.edu
Office Office AA203 DDH

More Information

Education:
Ph.D., 2015. Texas A&M University
Teaching:

Demographic Methods, Sociology of Education, Stratification, Latino Experiences, Racial & Ethnic Dynamics

Research:

Social Demography, Sociology of Education, and Latinx Sociology, Race Theory


Gonzalo Santos, Ph.D.
Gonzalo Santos, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
Phone 661-654-2191
E-mail gsantos@csub.edu
Website http://www.csub.edu/~gsantos/
Office DDH AA205

More Information

Education:
Ph.D., 1993, State University of New York, Binghamton
Teaching:
Modern World-System, Globalization, Immigration, Advanced Theories of Race, Nation, and Ethnicity, Race and Ethnic Relations, Vision & Method in Historical Sociology, Latin American Experience, Latino Experience in the U.S.

SOCIOLOGY LECTURERS

David Arrieta, M.A.
David Arrieta, M.A.
Sociology Lecturer
Phone 661-654-3902
E-mail darrieta@csub.edu
Office DDH AA200

Kristin Gibson
Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-2368
E-mail kgibson4@csub.edu

Lauren Lynch, M.A.
Lauren Lynch, M.A.
Sociology Lecturer
Phone 661 654-6114
E-mail llynch4@csub.edu
Office DDH CC210

Dahna Rasmussen, M.A.
Sociology Lecturer
Phone 661-654-6292
E-mail drasmussen4@csub.edu
Office DDH CC201

Andres Sanchez, M.A.
Andres Sanchez, M.A.
Sociology Lecturer
Phone 661-952-5088
E-mail Asanchez49@csub.edu
Office AV Building 400, Room 406

Amanda Studebaker, M.A.
Sociology Lecturer
Phone 661-654-6614
E-mail astudebaker@csub.edu

James P. White III., M.A.
James P. White III., M.A.
Sociology Lecturer
Phone 661-654-2676
E-mail jwhite33@csub.edu
Office DDH CC208

Administrative Support Coordinator

Marla R. Proffitt
Marla R. Proffitt
Administrative Support Coordinator
Phone 661-654-2368
E-mail mproffitt@csub.edu
Office DDH AA209

Part-Time Lecturers

Brandon Bentle
Part-time Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-2384
E-mail bbentle@csub.edu
Office DDH/CC203

Rhea Lyons
Part-time Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-2384
E-mail rlyons@csub.edu
Office DDH/CC203

Anne Pinckney
Part-time Lecturer
Phone (661) 654-2384
E-mail apinckney@csub.edu
Office DDH/CC203

AV Interim Dean

Doreen Anderson-Facile
Doreen Anderson-Facile
Professor of Sociology
AV Interim Dean
Phone 661-654-2512
E-mail danderson_facile@csub.edu

More Information

Education:

Ph.D., 2003, University of California, Riverside

Teaching:
Introduction to Sociology, Sociology of Deviance, Classical Sociological Theory, Juvenile Delinquency, and Senior Seminar
Research:
CV
Other:
Areas of Interest: Inequality, Gender, Medical Sociology, Qualitative Methods, Teaching and Learning