CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, BAKERSFIELD ACADEMIC SENATE

Election Attempt Limit- Revert to Appointment- Handbook Change 202.6

RES 222327

BPC

RESOLVED:

That for any Senate-initiated election where the position is open for all members of the general faculty, when no nominations are received after two (2) successive calls to elect a representative, the position will be reverted to an Academic Senate Executive Committee appointment. The Academic Senate Elections Committee (ASEC) shall include this notice of pending action on the second call for nominations. And be it further

RESOLVED:

That the following paragraph to be added to the University Handbook, Section 202.6:

Policies and Procedures for Senate-Initiated Elections

All university-wide and school-wide senate-initiated elections shall meet the following requirements:

- a. All members of the general faculty, university-wide or school-wide, as defined in Article 2 of the Constitution of the General Faculty, shall be allowed to vote.
- b. Elections shall be conducted in such a way as to ensure the confidentiality and security of all votes.
- c. A minimum of three working days will be allowed for nominations.
- d. A minimum of three working days will be allowed for voting.
- e. Elections shall be conducted electronically.
- f. The preferential voting system, Single-Transferable Vote, is used to count votes.

For any Senate-initiated election where the position is open for all members of the general faculty, when no nominations are received after two (2) successive calls to elect a representative, the position will be reverted to an Academic Senate Executive Committee appointment. The Academic Senate Elections Committee (ASEC) shall include this notice of pending action on the second call for nominations.

RATIONALE:

To facilitate the timely population of committees, there is a need to stop the nominations process after two failed attempts.

Approved by the Academic Senate May 4,2023 Sent to the President May 17, 2023 Approved by the President May 22, 2023

Distribution List:

President
Provost
AVP Faculty Affairs
School Deans
Library Dean
Department Chairs
General Faculty