

HSIRB and IACUC Policy Updates – Handbook Change

RES 232417

FAC

RESOLVED: That the Academic Senate recommend revisions to the University Handbook language regarding HSIRB and IACUC (additions in **bold underline**) as specified below:

303.10.2 Membership of the IACUC

In compliance with federal regulations, the IACUC's membership consists of at least <u>five (5)</u> persons. <u>At least</u> <u>one (1)</u> shall be CSUB faculty experienced in the use of animals; at least one (1) shall be CSUB faculty whose primary concern is nonscientific; at least one (1) shall be a community member not affiliated with CSUB; one (1) shall be a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine; and one (1) shall be the CSUB Safety and Risk Management Officer.

In consultation with the **IACUC** and the **Associate** Vice-President for Grants, Research and Sponsored Programs (GRASP), the P&VPAA appoints the chair and IACUC members **initially to a one-year term and** to three-year terms **thereafter**. In consultation with the IACUC chair, the P&VPAA may also remove members who do not participate in IACUC activities.

The <u>Associate</u> Vice-President for Grants, Research and Sponsored Programs (GRASP) provides administrative support for the IACUC. Members of the IACUC may not participate in the review of any project in which the member has an interest.

RATIONALE: The recommended handbook changes are modified to reflect updated HSIRB and IACUC policies and procedures. The Senate Executive Committee is removed from the language, since it does not have purview over HSIRB or IACUC business, and the membership numbers are changed to align with federal regulations.

Distribution List:

President Provost and VP for Academic Affairs VP Student Affairs AVP Faculty Affairs AVP Academic Affairs and Dean of Academic Programs School Deans

Academic Senate California State University, Bakersfield 9001 Stockdale Hwy. • 22 EDUC • Bakersfield, CA 93311 Dean of Libraries Dean of Antelope Valley Dean of Extended University and Global Outreach Office of Grants, Research, and Sponsored Programs Department Chairs General Faculty

Approved by the Academic Senate: February 22, 2024 Sent to the President: March 12, 2024 President Approved: March 20, 2024