Phi Beta Delta International Honor Society at CSUB Receives Outstanding Chapter Award

The Phi Beta Delta (PBD) International Honor Society Theta Theta Chapter at California State University-Bakersfield has been awarded the 2019 Phi Beta Delta Eileen Evans Outstanding Chapter. Given annually to one chapter around the world, the award honors the chapter that has demonstrated outstanding service to the Phi Beta Delta Honor Society, significant chapter growth and development, and exemplar programming to promote international education.

Additionally, Grant Obenshain, CSUB Helen Hawk Honors student, has been named the recipient of the 2019 PBD Marian Beane/Charles Gliozzo Domestic Student Award for International Achievement. Chapter President and Assistant Professor of Accounting Dr. Di Wu, has been named the 2019 PBD Yvonne Captain Faculty Award for Outstanding Contributions to International Education.

“These awards underscore how our faculty, staff and students are committed to the internationalization of our campus,” said Chapter Coordinator Dr. Cliona Murphy. “We are delighted that our chapter, our president, and one of our student members are receiving these prestigious awards. It brings distinction to our chapter and the University.”

The CSUB chapter of Phi Beta Delta-International Honor Society for International Scholars was established in 2017 with Founding President, Dr. Jenny Zorn. Since then, the chapter has made great progress in its growth and development, outreach to all communities, promotion of international education, and outstanding services to its members and Phi Beta Delta Honor Society. During their first appearance at the national convention of PDB, Drs. Di Wu and Ji Li, received the Best Faculty Poster Presentation. Luiza Martins received the Best Student Paper Presentation and Rosemary Stribling received the Best Faculty Paper Presentation. 

The chapter sponsors and partners with other organizations around campus including celebrations such as the Chinese New Year, Diwali, International Education Week, study abroad trips, local field trips, to name a few.  The chapter also has a newsletter which appears twice a year and which keeps the campus and the community informed about international activities and promotes international events.

The current Theta Theta chapter board members are President, Di Wu; President-Elect, Isabella Kasselstrand; Chapter Coordinator, Newsletter Editor and Chair of Nomination Committee, Cliona Murphy; Secretary, Carol Dell’Amico; Treasurer, Sonia Silva; Chair of Outreach Committee, Jonnathan De La Fuente; Chair of Events, Emily Poole; Field Trip Coordinator, David Olson; Banquet Coordinator, Leslie Williams.

For more information about Phi Beta Delta International Honor Society, please visit

For Media Requests

Contact CSUB Public Affairs
(661) 654-2136