CSUB Communications Students Awarded Scholarships

California State University Bakersfield is proud to announce that four students in the Department of Communications have been awarded scholarships funded by the Bakersfield Californian Foundation. Communications majors Reyes Alonzo, Angela (Paola) Becerra, Stephanie Heerdink, and Kathryn Wright each received a scholarship of $650 to assist with school expenses.

 “These students represent the best of the Communications Department, and are worthy of being recognized as scholarship winners,” said Judith Pratt, Communications Professor and Chair of the Department. “We are very proud of the caliber of students in our program, and we know they’ll go on to outstanding careers and/or graduate work.”

 Pratt served on the selection committee, along with fellow Communications Professor Jennifer Burger, and Californian web editor Christine Peterson. The students were selected based on their high grade point averages and proven intent to pursue careers in the many fields of communications.

Throughout the past 25 years, the Bakersfield Californian and its Foundation have awarded more than $40,000 to CSUB Communications students. For more information, contact Pratt at 661-654-2255 or jpratt@csub.edu.

For More Information

Contact CSUB Public Affairs
(661) 654-2136