Alert: COVID-19 (Coronavirus)

Armantrout Comes to CSUB Campus

Armantrout photo

Pulitzer Prize Winning Poet to Give Reading

CSU Bakersfield announced today that Rae Armantrout-a highly distinguished poet and winner of the Pulitzer Prize in 2010, as well as a California native-will give a poetry reading in the California Writers Series on the CSUB campus on Thursday, April 11th at 7 p.m., in the Dezember Room of the Walter Stiern Library.

Professor of writing at UC San Diego, Armantrout has published numerous books of poetry, including Just Saying (Wesleyan University Press, 2013); Money Shot (2011); Versed (2009), which won the Pulitzer Prize in 2010; Next Life (2007), selected by the New York Times as one of the most notable books of 2007; Up to Speed (2004), a finalist for the PEN Center USA Award in Poetry; Veil: New and Selected Poems (2001), also a finalist for the PEN Center USA Award; The Pretext (2001); Made To Seem (1995); and The Invention of Hunger (1979).

According to the Academy of American Poets, Armantrout is "part of the first generation of Language poets on the West Coast, her work has been praised for syntax that borders on everyday speech while grappling with questions of deception and distortion in both language and consciousness."

The poetry reading is free and open to the public, and will be followed by a discussion with the author and a book sale and signing, sponsored by Russo's Books.

The California Writers Series, begun in 2006, is sponsored by Poets & Writers, the CSUB English Department and Sigma Tau Delta, the English Honors Society. Previous readers have included Kay Ryan, Wanda Coleman, Joe Wenderoth, Susana Chavez-Silverman, Pam Houston, Ngugi wa Thiong'o, Brian Turner, Mona Simpson, Harryette Mullen, Kevin Clark, and Aimee Phan.

For more information about the series, please contact Marit MacArthur at (661) 654-6503 or For more information about CSUB please visit

For More Information

Contact CSUB Public Affairs
(661) 654-2136