CSUB Chamber Orchestra Concert set for November 13

Dr. Doug Davis The CSUB Music Program is pleased to announce the premier performance of the newly formed 40-piece CSUB Chamber Orchestra on Sunday, Nov. 13 at 4 p.m. in CSUB's Doré Theatre. Inspired to showcase the talents of CSUB students, the first concert will feature works by Vivaldi, Weber, Grieg, Fauré, and Britten. Admission is $10; non-CSUB Student/Seniors are $5; and CSUB Students and children under 12 are free.

The concert opens with Antonio Vivaldi'sa famous Double Concerto in A minor from L'Estro Armonico, featuring student soloists Jason Gomez and Suzanne Botha. Vivaldi's rhythmic energy and "bizarria" are clearly evident, but the gorgeous, melodic flow of the second and final movements has made this composition one of the most beloved works for two violin soloists ever written. The restrained elegance of Gabriel Fauré's Pavane follows. The opening half of the concert concludes with Benjamin Britten's four-movement Simple Symphony. Written at age 20, this work launched the career of one of the major compositional talents of the twentieth century.

The last half of the concert features gifted clarinet soloist Brock Christian in Carl Maria von Weber's Concertino for Clarinet. The wide-range of both expressivity and virtuosic display made Weber's composition a cornerstone of the clarinet's repertoire from its premiere in 1811.

The concert closes with CSUB student Robert Morales conducting Edvard Grieg's Peer Gynt Suite No. 1. When Norwegian dramatist Henrik Ibsen asked Grieg to write incidental music for a stage version of his verse poem Peer Gynt, it was the beginning of one of the most successful collaborations between a living playwright and composer of all time. Famous melodies and "trollish" fun abound in this Norwegian masterpiece.

For more information, call 654-3093.

For More Information

Contact CSUB Public Affairs
(661) 654-2136