Information Technology Advisory Council


The intent of the Information Technology Advisory Council (ITAC) is to support Information Technology (IT) governance, planning, and priority setting for the University. Council members shall be actively engaged in providing guidance and recommendations to the Cabinet to best align the IT direction and management efforts within the California State University, Bakersfield (CSUB) operational objectives. 


The purpose of the ITAC is to create a best in class IT operating environment including establishing the information technology governance, risk and compliance framework; providing information technology planning and priority setting; identifying funding opportunities for information technology initiatives and managing customer service expectations and communications consistent with allocated resources in support of the mission, vision, values and strategic plan of CSUB by championing IT: 

1. Services, infrastructure and equipment 

2. Staffing and professional development 

3. Support and training opportunities to university-wide end users 


The objectives of the ITAC are to: 

1. Establish an Information Technology Committee (ITC) with defined objectives 

2. Ensure ITC recommendations (to ITAC) have addressed ITC objectives 

3. Approve/deny/modify ITC recommendations 

4. Recommend (to Cabinet) allocation of resources in support of ITC recommendations 

5. Support IT communications of policies and procedures (as approved by ITAC) 

6. Support IT implementation timelines (as approved by ITAC) 


The membership of the ITAC shall consist of the following, or their respective designee: 

1. Vice President for Business and Administrative Services/CFO (chair) – Thom Davis 

2. Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs (vice-chair) – Jenny Zorn 

3. Vice President for Student Affairs – Thomas Wallace 

4. Vice President for University Advancement – Victor Martin 

5. Dean of Arts and Humanities – Bob Frakes 

6. Dean of Business and Public Administration – Angappa Gunasekaran 

7. Dean of Natural Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering – Kathleen Madden 

8. Dean of Social Sciences and Education – Steve Bacon 

9. Dean of Extended University – Mark Novak 

10. Dean of Antelope Valley – Randy Schultz 

11. Dean of Walter Stiern Library – Curt Asher 

12. Faculty Senate Chairperson – John Tarjan 

13. Department Chair Leadership Council Representative – Melissa Danforth 

14. Associated Students, Inc. President – Mariela Gomez 

15. ITC ex-officio – Chief Information Office – Faust Gorham

16. ITC ex-officio - Chief Security Officer - Vacant

17. ITC ex-officio – Administrative Technology Representative – Charlene Hu 

18. ITC ex-officio – Academic Technology Representative – Kris Krishnan 


The meetings of the ITAC shall be at least once per year, with additional meetings scheduled as requested by the ITAC Chair. 

Approved Recommendations

Revised 10/16/2015 (names updated 5/8/18)

June 2016

Passing of the 2016-2020 IT Roadmap. 

October 2015

2015-01.00 Blackboard Managed Hosting Services for our Learning Management System

2015-02.00 Office 365 for Faculty and Staff