Alerts: COVID-19 | Return to Campus | CARES Act

Faculty Academic Advisors

Welcome CSUB Criminal Justice Students!

Our Faculty Advisors for the major are available via email or virtually through Zoom during their office hours through Spring 2021 due to COVID-19.

You are encouraged to contact your assigned faculty advisor by email to schedule an appointment during their office hours any time outside the advising period. After achieving Junior status, or 60 units or more, students should plan on meeting with a Faculty Advisor each term for advising until they complete the degree requirements.

During the Academic Advising period, Freshmen and Sophomores will participate in advising sessions with the SSE Advising Center. Please contact the SSE Advising Center at 661-654-6807 or sseadvising@csub.edu to sign-up.

Juniors and Seniors will set an appointment with their assigned Faculty Advisor for the major. Please refer to email notifications from your assigned advisor the week before Academic Advising begins or contact the Department Coordinator, Jena Lords at jlords@csub.edu.

Please schedule your appointment at least 24 hours in advance. If you need to CANCEL your appointment for any reason, please contact your advisor via email or phone as soon as possible. Also, please view the class schedule and consider a tentative schedule for your appointment, so that your advisor can review it with you. This is a good time to ask any questions you may have about the major or minor requirements. Please feel free to discuss any issues or concerns you may have at at this time as well. We are here for you!

For assistance with class enrollment during registration, please contact the SSE Advising Center at 661-654-6807 or sseadvising@csub.edu.

AV Campus Students: Please contact the AV Campus Academic Advisor, Lea Antone at lantone@csub.edu. Dr. Melanie Taylor is also available for academic advising at mtaylor44@csub.edu.

Main Campus Students: Faculty Advising is assigned by the first letter of your last name. Please refer to the following list to find your Advisor:


Open All/Close All

A-AZU

Lindsay Nelson, M.S.
DDH - C117
lnelson11@csub.edu
661-654-2088


B-CA

Heejong Joo, Ph.D.
DDH - C111
hjoo1@csub.edu
661-654-3109


CE-E

Kallee McCullough, Ph.D.
DDH - C121
kmccullough1@csub.edu
661-654-2557


F-GOV

Doris Hall, Ph.D.
DDH - C123
dhall@csub.edu
661-654-3121


GRA-LOO

Robert Fong, Ph.D.
DDH - C109
rfong@csub.edu
661-654-2434


LOP-NIC

Dr. Flores is on Sabbatical Spring 2021 - Please select any CJ faculty advisor

Anthony Flores, Ph.D.
DDH - C115
aflores14@csub.edu
661-654-6794


NID-RIO

Steve Ellwanger, Ph.D.
DDH - C113
sellwanger@csub.edu
661-654-6791


RIP-S

Zachary Hays, Ph.D.
DDH - C119
zhays@csub.edu
661-654-6796


T-Z

Reem Abu-Lughod, Ph.D.
DDH - C116
rabu_lughod@csub.edu
661-654-6792


$textbox1-img-alt.value

Department of Criminal Justice

California State University, Bakersfield
Mail Stop: 24 DDH
9001 Stockdale Highway
Bakersfield, CA 93311-1022

Phone:  (661) 654-2433
Fax:  (661) 654-2627
Email:  jlords@csub.edu
Office: DDH C114