About the CSU Statewide Honors Student Conference

Approximately 70 Honors students from throughout the California State University system participated in an Honors Conference at California State University, Bakersfield on Saturday, April 29th.  The event was hosted by CSUB’s Helen Hawk Honors Program and directed by Dr. Jacquelyn Kegley, the director of the program.

The conference opened in the Student Union Multipurpose Room and closed with the presentation of awards and remarks by CSUB President Horace Mitchell.  Students presented research papers or posters throughout the day in the Dezember Leadership Center.

In addition, the winner and runner-up for the Michael Flachmann prize for best extensive research paper gave plenary presentations.  Other papers submitted for the prize were later featured in afternoon sessions.

The following CSUB students participated in the conference:  Anu Isaac (Nursing), Errys Frondarina (Nursing), Andrew Kelly (Anthropology, Biochemistry, and Physics), Jazmine Munoz (Biology), Bailey Russell (English), and Sidney Russell (English and Psychology).