STD Logo

    Sigma Tau Delta
The English Honor Society


           CSUB ENGLISH CLUB    

Sigma Tau Delta Seal

Click here to Join now!


Current Officers


Scholarships and Awards

A Brief History of 
Sigma Tau Delta

Pledge and Motto

Constitution and By-Laws

Sigma Tau Delta Home

English Department



Click here to JOIN NOW!!!

The 2014 Betty Creative Writing Awards

Through the generosity of Dr. Stafford Betty, the 2014 Betty Creative Writing Awards are presented annually to honor the creative work of students at the undergraduate and graduate levels at California State University, Bakersfield and California State University, Bakersfield – Antelope Valley Campus.

For complete contest rules, click here.

For and application form, click here.



The Xi Tau Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta


Sigma Tau Delta is a coed honor society designed to confer distinction for high achievement in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies in English language and literature. The society aims to provide cultural stimulation on college campuses, furnish community interest within English departments, and encourage creative and critical writing. Members are eligible to wear honor cords/honor stole at graduation, can gain valuable leadership experience, and qualify for several scholarships, grants, internships, and awards. Members also receive copies of The Rectangle, Sigma Tau Delta's literary publication. One of the largest members of the Association of College Honor Societies, Sigma Tau Delta has over 600 active chapters, more than 900 faculty sponsors, and inducts approximately 7,000 members annually. Members have the opportunity to be recognized for their outstanding achievements, enrich their education, help them make career choices, and advance their careers.


Membership is available, in general, to students who:

  • Are a current undergraduate or graduate student, majoring or minoring in English
  • Have a B average overall (3.0 GPA), as well as a B average in English
  • Have taken a minimum of 2 college courses in English language and literature
  • Have completed 5 quarters of undergraduate work


Sigma Tau Delta has a one-time application fee of $75.00. This fee covers membership, initiation pin, certificate, and honor stole. 

How to Apply

Interested in applying for Sigma Tau Delta membership? Simply click on the link below to download a membership form. 

Click here to Join now!


English Club


English Club
is the social equivalent of Sigma Tau Delta. Every week, students (both graduates and undergraduates) and instructors meet and chat about everything from books to movies. 


You do not have to be an English major or minor - the only requirements are that you like good food and good conversation. 


There are no fees to join the English Club. Just show up!

When Do We Meet?

We meet every Friday at 3:30 p.m. at Lengthwise Brewery at the Marketplace (9000 Ming Avenue, Unit T-1). Feel free to join us! 



The 2013 Betty Creative Writing Awards winners

Short Story

 First Place – Juan Gonzalez

"To Know and Understand”

 Second Place – Morgan Johnson

“Mama, I’m in Love with a Martian”

 Third Place – Rachel Duarte

“Between Druidia and the Deepsleep Sea”



 First Place – Ashley Rae Fischer

“Portrait Spun”

 Second Place – Morgan Johnson

“Oreo Crumbling”

 Third Place – Rachel Duarte

“Sapphic 1 & 2”



 First Place – Hudson Sanders

“The Death of Henry Black”

 Second Place – Rachel Duarte

“The Hither and Thithering Waters of the Night”

 Third Place – Cassandra Alexander

“Coming Down” 



The Li’i Pearl Outstanding Student in English Award


Supported through the great generosity of the Pearl and Bandy families since 2007, The Li’i Pearl Outstanding Student in English Award was created by an anonymous donor and named in honor of Julia ‘Li’i’ Pearl to honor a student who has made a special contribution to the department, the school, the university, and the community at large and who serves as a "proud representative" of the department.

 Congratulations to Joelle Milholm! 

Joelle Milholm came to CSUB in 2011 from Colorado, where, after earning a B.A. in Journalism, she worked as a sports reporter for six years. On arriving in Bakersfield, Joelle began a year’s worth of prerequisites in preparation for Master’s program classes, which she is now taking. Also in 2011, Joelle took a position in the Athletic Communications Department, where she handles communications duties for eight sports: softball, volleyball, men's track and field, women's track and field, men's golf, women's golf, sand volleyball, and cross country. This involves keeping statistics, writing stories for, reporting results to conferences and the NCAA, and creating media guides. This position additionally requires Joelle to work all home sporting events (running scoreboards, clocks, and ‘stats’; and coordinating press conferences). Joelle was also on the organizing committee for CSUB's National Coming Out Day Celebration on October 11, 2012. She helped plan the event, secured donations, spoke at the event, and told her coming out story. Joelle’s contribution to the university and community, and her presence on campus, does not end with all of this, however. She is also a member of Sigma Tau Delta and GLSSN, she tutors at Bakersfield College, and serves as a teaching assistant. Joelle’s visibility on campus is also thanks to the delightfully creative project she produced in Dr. Stafinbil’s English 340 course in Winter 2012. This is a hilarious mock epic poem written after Alexander Pope's "Rape of the Lock," called "Exposé of the Nipple,” about Janet Jackson’s Super Bowl ‘wardrobe malfunction’. Joelle presented the poem with great verve in various classes and at the May 2012 Gender Matters Conference – and the work took second place in the 2012 Betty Creative Writing Awards in the short story category.



Congratulations to the following individuals, who were inducted into Xi Tau Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta during the
Ninth Annual Induction and Awards Ceremony
held on April 26, 2013

Amy Victoria Andrada                            

Daniel Ayora                                               

Stephanie L. E. Bergmann              

Danielle Iris DeCant                                   

Kristen L. Garza                              

Garrett Bennett Geissel                                                           

Marissa L. Martinez                        

Sawsan F. Merritt

Joelle Milholm

Anita Pimental

Laraine Elizabeth Rosema

Robin Rowley

Juana Luiza Sánchez-Peña

Lisa Karpe

Barbara H. Ward

Dakota Maddison Warren




Executive Board for 2013/2014


President:                                                             Justin Bell

Vice President:                                                    Barbara H. Ward

Secretary:                                                              Veronica Wilson

Treasurer:                                                              Robin Rowley

Public Relations Officer:                                    Joelle Milholm

Historian:                                                                Keith Koski



Home | Current Officers | Events | Scholarships and Awards  
A Brief History of STD | Pledge and Motto | Constitution and By-laws | English Department

Sigma Tau Delta Logo Two

Copyright 2005-2006 CSUB English Club/Xi Tau Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta
Questions? Comments? Contact the