Alert: COVID-19 (Coronavirus)

CSUB Chemistry Club

The CSUB Chemistry Club is a student affiliates chapter of the American Chemical Society (ACS). Our chapter was founded in 1997 to promote exchange between students studying chemistry and the chemical sciences at California State University, Bakersfield. Our constitution can be viewed here. Any CSUB student who is taking chemistry classes or just loves chemistry is eligible to join.

Current Officers (2019-2020)

President: Uchechi Okey-Dike
Vice President: Manjot Kaur
Treasurer: Abigail Klein
Event/Outreach Coordinators: Emma Gillian & Amritpal Kaur
Social Media Coordinator: Zoe Poblete
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Dani Solano

Fall 2019 Meeting Times

Day: Every second Friday of the Month
Time: 2:30-3:30 pm
Room: DDH 103E

Platforms to stay connected

Link to Presence to join and become a member:
Instagram: csubchemistryclub

ACS Membership

While ACS membership is by no means required to be a member of the CSUB Chemistry Club, it is encouraged! In order for us to become an official student chapter of ACS we have to have at least six members who have signed up at their website and paid the yearly dues of $24. If you are interested, please follow the listed directions:

  1. Go to the ACS online application page
  2. Follow the directions thru the application steps
  3. Email your first and last name, membership I.D. and membership number to the current secretary at:


Past Officers (2017-2018)

President: Mishel Murphy
Dozie Oragwam
Vivian Lopez
Geena Gallardo
Representative: Eva Mayorga

Past Officers (2016-2017)

President: Inderjeet Singh
Vice-President: Mishel Murphy
Treasurer: Raymond Carag-Chiu

Past Officers (2015-2016)

President: Immaculate DeSilva
Mishel Murphy
Nikki Oragwam
Jessica Albadawi

Past Officers (2014-2015)

President: Nikki Oragwam
Keerat Singh
Chad Benavides
Haley Hashim
Outreach Coordinator:
Immaculate DeSilva

Past Officers (2013-2014)

President: Justin Thornton
Vice-President: Ana Sofía Pottellá Pérez
Secretary: Cindy Tovar
Treasurer: Tyler Carcamo

Past Officers (2012-2013)

President: John Spaeth
Vice-President: Ana Sofía Pottellá Pérez
Secretary: Cindy Tovar
Treasurer: Philip Lamberson
Officers-At-Large: Tyler Carcamo, Justin Thornton

Past Officers (2011-2012)

President: Stephanie Lara
Vice-President: Silpa Joy
Secretary: John Spaeth
Treasurer: Mia Varghese
Sergeant-at-Arms: Sandy Nimat
Fundraising Director: Tyler Carcamo
Project Director: Brennan Campbell
Public Relations Committee: Brandon Williams & Sandy Nimat

Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

California State University, Bakersfield
9001 Stockdale Highway
Bakersfield, CA  93311-1022 

Phone: (661) 654-2030
Fax: (661) 654-2040
Office: Science II 273