Blackboard FAQs are listed in categories. To see each category's set of questions, please click on the arrow to expand that section for the questions and answers.

Open All/Close All

Course Management

The name of my course has changed. Can this be changed in Blackboard?

Yes, instructors have the ability to change the course name.  It may be helpful to also include the term in the course name.

  1. From within the course click Customization (located in the Control Panel)
  2. Click Properties
  3. On the Properties page change the Course Name
  4. Click Submit

My students tell me that they cannot self-enroll. What do I need to do?

You need to either update the self-enrollment dates or turn self-enrollment on.  Please be aware that you always have the ability to add students even if you use the self-enrollment option.

  1. From within the course click Customization (located in the Control Panel)
  2. Click Enrollment Options
  3. Select Self Enrollment and specify a start and/or end date and an optional access code.  Access codes are case sensitive and you must provide your students with this code in order for them to self-enroll.
  4. Click Submit


Adding and Deleting Users

I am co-teaching a course this quarter. How do I add this instructor to my course?

You will need the instructor’s Blackboard username (same as their myCSUB login).  Once you have this information, you will follow the same steps used to add a student.  The only difference is that you will change the role from Student to Instructor.

  1. From within the course click Users and Groups
  2. Click Users
  3. Click Find Users to Enroll
  4. Enter the instructor’s username and change the Role to Instructor
  5. Click Submit

I have a Teaching Assistant this quarter. How do I add my TA to the course?

You will need the TA’s Blackboard username (same as their myCSUB login).  Once you have this information, you will follow the same steps used to add a student.  The only difference is that you will change the role from Student to Teaching Assistant.

  1. From within the course click Users and Groups
  2. Click Users
  3. Click Find Users to Enroll
  4. Enter the instructor’s username and change the Role to Teaching Assistant
  5. Click Submit

How do I delete the students and their records from a previous course in order to reuse the same course?

It is recommended that you make an archive before deleting students just in case you would like to view your previous gradebook or assignments. To do this procedure, follow these steps:

Step 1: Create and download an archive

To create and download a course archive:

  • Click on Packages and Utilities
  • Click Export/Archive Course and click Archive
  • Select the box next to Include Grade Center History
  • Click Submit and you will receive an email once the archive file is complete if you have registered an email address
  • To download the file, go back to Packages and Utilities
  • Click on the File Name and save the file

If creating an archive, you will need to wait until the archive has been created before you delete the students and any discussion board posts.

Step 2: Save Grades from the Grade Center

Course grades can be downloaded and are automatically saved as an Excel.  The file will not contain any formulas but will display the alphanumeric value:

  • Access the Full Grade Center
  • Place your mouse over Work Offline and select Download
  • Click Submit (the selected default settings will download all columns)
  • Click Download and save the file
  • Click OK to return to the Grade Center

Step 3: Delete the students

  • Click Packages and Utilities
  • Click Bulk Delete
  • Select Users
  • Type in the word Delete below 3. Confirmation and click Submit