Department Chair

Tanya  Boone
Tanya Boone
Chair and Associate Professor
Phone 661.654.2366
E-mail tboone@csub.edu
Office DDH D103

More Information

Education:
     BA, University of Washington
     MA, University of Arizona
     PhD, Pennsylvania State University

Staff

Barbara Espinosa
Barbara Espinosa
Administrative Support Coordinator
Phone 661.654.2363
Fax 661.654.6955
E-mail bespinosa@csub.edu
Office DDH D107

Faculty

Marianne Abramson
Marianne Abramson
Lecturer
Phone 661.654.2075
E-mail mabramson@csub.edu
Office DDH H106

More Information

Education:
     BA, Northern Arizona University
     MA, Arizona State University
     PhD, Arizona State University
Teaching:
     PSYC 250/300B Understanding Psychological Research I & II
     PSYC 304 Cognitive Psychology
     PSYC 304L Cognitive Psychology Lab
     PSYC 477 Effective Thinking
     PSYC 477 History and Systems of Psychology
Research:
     Speech and silent reading
     Vocal factors and responses to computerized commands
     Factors affecting metacognition and student ahievement

Steve  Bacon
Steve Bacon
Professor and Associate Dean of SSE
Phone 661.654.6710
E-mail sbacon@csub.edu
Office EDUC 115

More Information

Education:

     BA, University of California, Los Angeles
     PhD, University of Minnesota

Teaching:

     PSYC 100 Explorations in Psychology
     PSYC 250 Understanding Psychological Research I
     PSYC 377 Positive Psychology
     CPSY 643 Cognitive Intervention

Research:

     Positive psychology
     Factors affecting involvement in global poverty


Jess F. Deegan II
Jess F. Deegan II
Professor
Phone 661.654.2381
E-mail jdeegan@csub.edu
Office DDH D113

More Information

Education:
     BA, CSU Bakersfield
     PhD, University of Calfornia, Santa Barbara
Teaching:
     PSYC 203 Biological Psychology
     PSYC 290 Psychology as a Profession
     PSYC 250 Understanding Psychological Research I
     PSYC 300B Understanding Psychological Research II
     PSYC 303L Biological Psychology Lab
Research:

     Visual capacity of the rat
     Commonalities between Synesthesia, dyslexia, and autism


Anne Duran
Anne Duran
Professor
Phone 661.654.2298
E-mail aduran@csub.edu
Office DDH D119

More Information

Education:
     BA, Metropolitan State College of Denver
     MA, New Mexico State University
     PhD, New Mexico State University

Allison Evans (Fluckey)
Allison Evans (Fluckey)
Lecturer
Phone 661.952.5094
E-mail aevans@csub.edu
Office AV 410 (AV campus)

More Information

Education:
     BS, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
     MA, CSU Bakersfield
     PhD, Pacifica Graduate Institute
Teaching:
     PSYC 312 Social Psychology
     PSYC 315 Abnormal Psychology
     PSYC 340 Psychology of Diversity
     PSYC 341 Psychological Aspects of Human Sexuality
     BEHS 311 Small Group Dynamics
Research:
     Attitudes and attitude formation
     Etiology of bullying and early prevention
     Inter-group dynamics and relationships
     Interface between psychological effects of childbirth, caesarean birth, and western medicine

Karen  Hartlep
Karen Hartlep
Professor
Phone 661.654.2371
E-mail khartlep@csub.edu
Website http://www.csub.edu/~khartlep/
Office DDH D115

More Information

Education:
     BA, Dickinson College
     MA, University of New Hampshire
     PhD, University of New Hampshire

Ken Ishida
Assistant Professor
Phone 661.654.2375
E-mail kishida@csub.edu
Office DDH D123

More Information

Education:
     BA, Pitzer College, Claremont
     MA, Case Western Reserve University
     PhD, Case Western Reserve University

Matthew Leon
Matthew Leon
Associate Professor
Phone 661.654.2320
E-mail mleon6@csub.edu
Office DDH H112

More Information

Education:
     BA, University of California, Los Angeles
     MA, University of California, Los Angeles
     PhD, University of California, Los Angeles

Carol Raupp
Professor
Phone 661.654.2370
E-mail craupp@csub.edu
Office DDH D121

More Information

Education:
     BS, Michigan State University
     MS, Pennsylvania State University
     PhD, Pennsylvania State University
Teaching:
     PSYC 332  Environmental Psychology
     PSYC 421  Psychology of Women
     PSYC 320  Adult-Child Relationships
Research:
     Human-animal studies
     Sustainability behaviors

Kathleen Ritter
Professor
Phone 661.654.3062
E-mail kritter@csub.edu
Office EDUC 222

More Information

Education:
     BA, University of Utah
     MS, Emporia State University
     PhD, University of New Mexico
Teaching:
     CPSY 644 Dynamic Intervention
     CPSY 645 Dyadic Intervention
     CPSY661 Techniques of Group Counseling
     CPSY 681-683 Practicum I, I, & III
Research:
     Group psychotherapy
     Sexuality and sexual minority issues
     Spirituality and religion
     Object relations therapies

Isabel Sumaya
Isabel Sumaya
Associate Professor
Phone 661.654.22381
E-mail isumaya@csub.edu
Office DDH H108

More Information

Education:
     BA, CSU Bakersfield
     MA, CSU Bakersfield
     PhD, University of Texas, El Paso

Steve Suter
Steve Suter
Professor
Phone 661.654.2373
E-mail ssuter@csub.edu
Office DDH H114

More Information

Education:
     BS, Bethany College
     MA, Bowling Green State University
     PhD, Johns Hopkins University

Luis Vega
Luis Vega
Professor
Phone 661.654.3024
E-mail lvega@csub.edu
Office DDH D111

More Information

Education:
     BA, CSU Fullerton
     MA, CSU Fullerton
     PhD, University of California, Santa Cruz
Teaching:
     PSYC 300B Understanding Psychological Research II
     PSYC 312 Social Psychology
     PSYC 312L Social Psychology Lab
     PSYC 442 Social Psychology of Intergroup Relations
Research:
     Intergroup relations and social identity
     Survey research and evaluation