March 3, 2008
Kathy Miller, 661/654-2456, or
Michele Newel, 661/654-2720,

A team of Mathletes® from Tevis Junior High in Bakersfield has won the local MATHCOUNTS team competition. Sam Woodman from Murray Middle School in Ridgecrest was the top individual, by winning the CountDown Round, a head-to-head mathematics competition. The competition was held Saturday, Feb. 23, at California State University, Bakersfield.

Members of the winning team from Tevis are Mako Koseki, Gavin Shih, Momoha Takahashi, and Jingyan Yue. The coach for Tevis is Dinah Redford.

The second place team is Murray Middle School. The team members are Christal Hoang, Nam Trinh, Sam Woodman, and Heidi Yi. The coaches for Murray are Lynne Spoons and Tami Welsh.

These two teams will now advance to the state competition at University of California, Irvine on March 15.

Additionally, the best sixth-grade school is Franklin Elementary in Bakersfield. The team members are Marvin Fuller, Susan Lee, Oswaldo Marquez, and Olivia Nystrom. The coaches for Franklin are Daniel Ardron and Bob Eldredge.

The three students with the highest scores on individual tests and who are not members of either of the two advancing teams will also advance to the state competition to compete as independents. These students are Zach Lotze, Alan Xu, and Jhotte Kannappan.

The Countdown Round participants were the 10 highest scoring students from individual written tests. The final results from this round were: Sam Woodman, first place; Zach Lotze, second place; Nam Trinh, third place; Alan Xu, fourth place; Momoha Takahashi, fifth place; Mako Koseki, sixth place; Jingyan Yue, seventh place; Peter Kedzierski, eighth place; Jotthe Kannappan, ninth place; and Man-Cheung Tsui, 10th place.

The top-scoring student from each of the 18 participating schools also received an award. These awards were given to Deborah Heeter from Boron Junior/Senior High School; Jonathan Pusauvat from Chipman; David Kilpatrick from Downtown Elementary in Bakersfield; Olivia Nystrom from Franklin; Zach Lotze from Fruitvale; Jose Zuniga from Haven Drive Middle School in Arvin; Arman Alizadeh from Jacobsen Middle School in Tehachapi; Elisa Robins from James Monroe Middle School in Ridgecrest; Peter Kedzierski from McKee; Sam Woodman from Murray; Christina Fuentes from Bessie Owens Intermediate School; Michael Blanchard from Palm Avenue Elementary School in Wasco; David Puga from John L. Prueitt Elementary School in Wasco; Rocio Guerrero from Rio Bravo Greeley School in Bakersfield; Momoha Takahashi from Tevis; Jorge Zuniga from Thomas Jefferson Middle School in Wasco; Alan Xu from Warren.

Locally, MATHCOUNTS is sponsored by the CSUB Department of Mathematics and the Kern County Superintendent of Schools Office. Founding Sponsors are the National Society of Professional Engineers, the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, and CNA Foundation.

For more information about MATHCOUNTS, please contact Becky Larson at (661) 654-2103.