CSUB announces 2009 Alumni Hall of Fame recipients

December 4, 2008
Kathy Miller, 661/654-2456, kmiller26@csub.edu or
Michele Newel, 661/654-2720, mnewell1@csub.edu
Alumni Hall of Fame recipients Photo

The California State University, Bakersfield Alumni Association will induct its 2009 class of accomplished alumni into the Alumni Hall of Fame at a special awards ceremony on Saturday, March 14, at Seven Oaks Country Club, 2000 Grand Lakes Ave. The third annual event will honor four outstanding alumni.

"The Hall of Fame event recognizes alumni who have made significant contributions in their chosen field of endeavor or in their community, and whose accomplishments and careers have brought honor and distinction to the university," said Nancy Chaffin, CSUB alumna and chair of the Hall of Fame committee. "The 2009 CSUB Alumni Hall of Fame class members serve as examples of graduates who have not only made a significant and lasting impact in their professions, but more importantly they have substantially improved the condition of our community for generations to come. We invite the community to join us in celebrating these distinguished alumni."

A committee of university representatives and alumni board members selected the inductees. Nominations were obtained from campus deans, the alumni board, the CSUB president's office and the president's cabinet. "The 2009 CSUB Alumni Hall of Fame class compares well to any university Hall of Fame inductees nationally. Our community can be proud of this fact," Chaffin said.

This year's four inductees into the Alumni Hall of Fame are:

Joel Heinrichs Heinrichs, the CEO of Lightspeed Systems, earned his master's degree in public administration from CSUB in 1989. He is also currently the vice president of the Kern High School District Board of Trustees.

In 1995 Heinrichs was appointed county administrative officer by the Kern County Board of Supervisors and successfully implemented a number of initiatives to streamline central services, welfare-to-work programs and permit processes.

Heinrichs has participated on numerous nonprofit boards and assisted organizations with strategic planning workshops and issues. He was awarded the John W. Doubenmier Award for public sector innovation for his work in implementing the principles of total quality management to improve public services. He, along with his wife, Arlene, have provided strategic planning, project management, fund raising and civic education services to United Way of the Central Coast, Kern County Superintendent of Schools and Kern County Waste Management Department.

Pauline Larwood A government relations consultant since 1995, Larwood is serving her third term as trustee of the Kern Community College District and a six-year term appointment by Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger to the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges. Larwood received her master's degree in history from CSUB in 1976.

As a 12-year member of the Kern County Board of Supervisors, Larwood guided policies for operation of the county, including her role as planning commissioner. Her leadership has brought attention to issues relating to air quality, land use, citizenship, international understanding and Valley Fever. Garden Pathways, Inc. named Larwood 2007 Woman with a Heart for Bakersfield, describing her as "a person of humility; she is interested in getting the job done and is not concerned about getting credit for making a difference."

Larwood takes pride in her combined family with husband Tom, seven children and eight grandchildren.

Wayne Montgomery Montgomery has been the owner of Montgomery Insurance since 1977. He is also currently the pastor of Christ Community Church in Wasco. He is a two-time CSUB alum, having received a bachelor's degree in psychology in 1976 and master's degree in education in 1978.

Montgomery has served on numerous committees over the years, traveled and preached on every continent, was a missionary to South America, has received the Wasco Citizen of the Year Award, Traveler's Insurance Company Man of the Year Award and the Master Boardsmanship Award from the California School Boards Association. He also served in the United States Air Force.

Montgomery's children, three of whom are also CSUB alumni, founded the CSUB Wayne and Sally Montgomery Scholarship in honor of their parents' 70th birthdays. The scholarship fund recognizes their parents' dedication to higher education and will be given annually to a CSUB student.

Bill Rector Rector, the chief of police for the Bakersfield Police Department, has been with the organization since 1982. He has worked a variety of areas including patrol, training, vice/narcotics and juvenile/sex crimes. He graduated from CSUB in 1989 with a master's degree in education.

Rector was promoted to assistant chief in 1999 and served in that position for five years. Rector is one of the youngest police chiefs in the history of the Bakersfield Police Department. He was selected by Alan Tandy, city manager, to replace Eric Matlock, who retired in 2004. He is the city's 17th police chief.

Under Rector's leadership the Bakersfield Police Department was awarded the 2008 Helen Putnam Award for the top safety program in the state.

He and his wife Whitney have two children.

"We are pleased to recognize four more outstanding graduates of CSU Bakersfield," Chaffin said. "Joel, Pauline, Wayne and Bill exemplify professional success as well as personal integrity. Each has excelled in their chosen field and been generous in their commitment of time and resources to the community and the campus. We couldn't ask for a more distinguished group of individuals to represent CSUB."

Hall of Fame event sponsorships range from the friend level starting at $500 to the platinum level at $10,000.

Reservations are $75 per person or $600 for a table of eight. Seating is limited. Social hour starts at 6 p.m. with dinner and the program beginning at 7 p.m. Proceeds from the black-tie event benefit the CSUB Alumni Scholarship Fund.

For more information, please contact CSUB's Alumni Relations office at (661) 654-3211 or alumni@csub.edu.