Family and Friends
News Stories

Click here to view archived stories.

Return to CSUB News Webpage.

CSUB Symbol
Campus News

The Runner - Online Student Newspaper
Cal State Today

President's Update

President Horace Mitchell's Monthly Update

News Archive

Archive of Press Release

Alumni Support

Planned Giving

Current Conditions
Weather Graphic

CSUB names emeriti faculty
  June 2, 2006
Mike Stepanovich, 661/654-2456,,
or Jaclyn Loveless, 661/654-2138,

Nine California State University, Bakersfield faculty members have been awarded emeritus status.

"This honor is bestowed on faculty members by their colleagues in appreciation of their excellent services to the university, its students, and the profession," said CSUB President Horace Mitchell.

The recipients are as follows:

  • Lorna Clymer, professor of English.
  • Anita DuPratt, professor of theatre.
  • Roberta Gerds, associate professor of nursing.
  • Victor Lasseter, professor of English.
  • Dale Moody, professor of advanced education.
  • Mary Lou Nevin, professor of teacher education.
  • Julia Robinson, associate professor of nursing.
  • Raymond Sparks, assistant professor of criminal justice, posthumous.
  • Lee Webb, professor of mathematics.

The new emeriti faculty will be recognized at their individual school's commencement ceremonies Friday and Saturday, June 9 and 10.

Emeritus status is granted to a retiring or retired faculty member or administrator in recognition of meritorious contributions to the university over an extended period of time. Any peer, individual department or unit submits nominations and all relevant materials for emeritus awards to the Faculty Honors and Awards Committee (FHAC) by March 15. The FHAC then reviews all nominations and submits all nominations and recommendations directly to the president. Recipients are recognized during commencement. There is no limit on the number of awards given each year.

For more information, please call (661) 654-2154.