Link to Cal State University Webpage

Varied topics at inaugural lectures
April 28, 2005
CONTACT: Mike Stepanovich, 661/664-2456 or

A series of inaugural seminars, featuring award winning faculty members is scheduled as part of CSUB’s 35th anniversary and inauguration of the university’s fourth president, Horace Mitchell, on Friday (May 20). The lectures will include talks on everything from ancient mummification practices to jazz music.

“I am pleased and excited to participate in the inaugural seminar series in honor of our new president, Horace Mitchell, whom I admire greatly,” said English professor Michael Flachmann. In 1993 Flachmann was selected as Outstanding Professor for the entire CSU system, and in 1995 he was named the Carnegie United States Professor of the Year. In 1999 he won the $20,000 Wang Family Excellence Award for superior undergraduate teaching by the CSU Chancellor’s Office.

“As its title implies, my presentation will involve sex, lies, Shakespeare, and two wonderful CSUB actors who will take participants through a brief scene from ‘Measure for Measure.’ If everyone pays careful attention, we'll learn through the brilliance of Shakespeare how to tell when people are lying to us – which is a useful skill to possess in any historical era.”

Chemistry professor Roy LaFever is also enthused about participating in the campus’ historical event. “I'm pleased to have the opportunity to discuss my work during this event,” LaFever said. The professor also serves as a coordinator for the National Science Foundation's biannual program in plant biochemistry and continues to highlight the importance of research on the CSUB campus. “There is a great deal of important research carried out on our campus and this is an excellent opportunity to communicate to the public and campus communities the types of work students and faculty at CSUB are engaged in.”

LaFever’s talk, “Cancer, Cosmetics and the Common Cold – What Is The Connection?” will include a focus on a class of plant natural products known as terpenoids, the applications of these products in society, and the research carried out at CSUB to address basic and applied aspects of terpenoid production in plants.

Two groups of seminars will be presented featuring 10 faculty members. All nine seminars are free and open to the public.

Seminars from 9:30 to 10:15 a.m.:

  • Philosophy professor Jackie Kegley, 2000 Wang Family Excellence Award winner, discussing "New Biomedical Technology: Promises And Perils: What Do We Want? What Do We Need?” Student Union multi-purpose room.
  • Chemistry professor Roy LaFever discussing "Cancer, Cosmetics and the Common Cold – What Is The Connection?” Cafeteria, Stockdale Room.
  • Anthropology and archaeology professor Robert Yohe discussing “Who’s Your Mummy? Mummification Practices in Roman Egypt.” Dezember Center.
  • Reading literacy professor Geri Mohler discussing “A Community Collaboration to Provide Literacy Instruction and Materials for Bakersfield City Preschools.” Doré Theatre, Albertson Room.

Seminars from 10:30 to 11:15 a.m.:

  • English professor Michael Flachmann, 1999 Wang Family Excellence Award winner, discussing "Sex, Lies And Shakespeare.” Dezember Center.
  • History professor Oliver Rink, 1995-6 CSUB Outstanding Professor; and biology professor Maynard Moe, 2002 Leadership Award winner, discussing “Plagues, Politics, and the Pursuit of Power.” Student Union multi-purpose room.
  • Marketing professor Mohsen Attaran, 2004 Ablin Outstanding Professor, discussing “From Re-Engineering to Engineering – How Large and Small Companies are Racing to Overhaul Operations for the Internet Age.” Cafeteria, Stockdale Room.
  • Music professor Doug Davis, 2003 Wang Family Excellence Award winner, discussing "Jazz: The World's Folk Music," Music Building.
  • Communications professor Elizabeth K. Jackson, Fulbright Scholar 2003-04, discussing “Democracy, Diversity, and Mr. Headley Scales: A Personal Reflection on the Politics of Inclusion,” Doré Theater, Albertson Room.

The celebration continues after the seminars with a Founders’ Lunch at noon, the inauguration of President Horace Mitchell at 3 p.m., and the Inaugural Ball at 6:30 p.m.

For additional information on the seminar speakers, 35th anniversary celebration and inauguration, visit



Back to main news page