Link to Cal State University Webpage

CSUB Jazz Coffeehouse on Saturday
November 7, 2005
CONTACT: Jim Scully, 661/654-6309,,
or Jaclyn Loveless, 661/654-2138,

The award winning CSU Bakersfield Jazz program will present its second Jazz Coffeehouse concert of the year on Saturday (Nov. 12) at 7:30 p.m. in the Multi-Purpose room of the CSUB Student Union. Tickets can be purchased at the door for $8 general admission and $6 for students and seniors.

The concert will feature students from CSUB’s music department performing traditional jazz standards in intimate, small jazz combos, directed by CSUB music instructor Jim Scully. Scully has directed the small jazz ensembles at the university since fall 2003.

CSUB music major Amanda Tiner (piano and vocal) will lead a quartet through a set of vocal jazz tunes. Joining Tiner will be CSUB graduate John Barker on double bass, Anthony Bolaños on drums, and alto saxophonist Aaron Mitchell.

CSUB music majors Luis Lenzi, alto saxophone; Eddie Ziegler, drums; Matt McCown, electric bass; Nick Romero and Ryan Fergon, guitars, will be joined by local high school student and alto saxophonist Isaiah Morfin in the group Morphin’ Lenzi. This group will play a group of standards that will showcase the two virtuosic saxophonists. Lenzi has played at numerous coffeehouse concerts while this will be the premier performance for Morfin. Tunes in this set include, “Au Privave,” “My Romance,” and others.

The CSUB Jazz Singers, under the direction of Peggy Sears, will perform a set of inspired vocal jazz. Their set will include “Chicago,” “You Don’t Love Me Like You Used To,” “I’ll be Seeing You,” and “There Will Never Be Another You.” Joining the Jazz Singers in the rhythm section is double bassist John Barker and drummer Anthony Bolaños and Micah Nacita on piano.

Tug-a-long is a group featuring a new student to CSUB and the music department. Tug Keith, guitar, is a transfer student from the University of New Mexico and he will be performing with fellow music students Shane Martin, drums and Jeremy Nugent, electric bass, as well as CSUB instructor Jim Scully, guitar. This group will perform Monk’s classic “Straight, No Chaser,” the ballad “In the Wee Small Hours,” and the timeless Jobim reflection “The Girl from Ipanema.”

"King" Marcell Porter’s Stomp, featuring Marcell Porter on trumpet, is an octet that will wind its way through a handful of jazz classics. On the agenda are “Jelly Roll,” composed by Charles Mingus; “Maiden Voyage,”

written by Herbie Hancock; and “Dear Old Stockholm” – as made famous by Miles Davis. Joining Porter on the front-line is Brandon Russie, baritone sax and David Kay, trombone. Making up the five piece rhythm section is Canaan McDuffie, drums; Matt McCown, electric bass; Jason Ocampo, guitar; Paula Shankle, guitar; and Cameron Bics, piano.

For more information, please contact Jim Scully (654-2511) or via email at



Back to main news page