CSU Announces Search Committee for California State University, Bakersfield Presidency
Contact: Colleen Bentley-Adler, (562) 951-4801, cbentley-adler@calstate.edu
or Mike Stepanovich, (661) 664-2456, mstepanovich@csub.edu

(December 18, 2003) – The California State University Board of Trustees will begin the search in January 2004 for a new president of California State University, Bakersfield to replace current President Tomás Arciniega, who is retiring in June.

The first meeting of the search committee will be held on Tuesday, January 13, from 10:15-11:45 a.m. in the Albertson Room at the Doré Theatre on the campus. This is the first and only meeting of the committee that is an open meeting.

Under the CSU Board of Trustees’ presidential selection policy, adopted in 1997, the chair of the board establishes a five-person Trustees' Committee for the Selection of the President, which is composed of the chair of the board, the chancellor and three trustees, one of whom is designated as committee chair by the board chair. Board policy also requires the chair to appoint an advisory group to the trustees’ committee. The Advisory Committee to the Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President is composed of representatives of the faculty, staff, students and alumni, as well as a member of the campus advisory board, all of whom are selected by the campus. Also on the advisory committee are a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus, both selected by the chancellor.

Trustee Roberta Achtenberg of San Francisco will chair the Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President. The other trustee members are Murray Galinson of San Diego, and Kyriakos Tsakopoulos of Sacramento, plus CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed and Trustees Chair Debra S. Farar of Los Angeles.

Members of the Advisory Committee for the Selection of the President are faculty members Kaye Bragg, associate professor of political science, Jess Deegan, associate professor of psychology and B.J. Moore, chair, Academic Senate. The student representative is Roger Eagleton, president, Associated Students; the staff representative is Frank Ramirez, Division of Student Affairs; the alumni representative is Nancy Chaffin, president, CSUB Alumni Association; the President’s Advisory Board member is Jose Benavides and the CSUB Foundation Board member is President Melvin Atkinson. Also on the committee are Henry Lowenstein, dean, School of Business and Public Administration, and Jim Rosser, president, California State University, Los Angeles. Milton Younger is representing the community-at-large on the committee.
The purpose of this initial meeting is to discuss the role of the committee, set the schedule of meetings, review the descriptions of the campus and the presidential position, and discuss any other business related to the search process.
The committee will work over the next few months reviewing applications and nominations and will conduct interviews with semi-finalists. It is expected that the finalists will make open visits to the campus in the spring. It is expected that the Board of Trustees will select a new president before current President Arciniega retires on June 30, 2004, after 21 years at the campus and 31 years with the California State University system.
For information about the CSU presidential search process, see the Executive Search page at http://executivesearch.calstate.edu/.
California State University, Bakersfield was founded in 1965 and has been offering classes since 1970 at its 375-acre campus. It has evolved into a comprehensive regional university providing quality education to area residents. Located in the heart of the West Coast’s oil production region, it has the only public university petroleum geology program west of the Rockies, an extraordinary level of student-faculty interaction and a highly personalized learning atmosphere. It offers 31 bachelor’s and 22 master’s degree programs. The Roadrunner sports teams have won national championships in men's basketball, swimming, wrestling, and soccer, and women's volleyball, tennis, and softball. CSUB's Antelope Valley satellite campus serves the Lancaster and Palmdale areas.
The California State University is the largest system of senior higher education in the country, with 23 campuses, more than 409,000 students and 46,000 faculty and staff. Since the system was created in 1961, it has awarded about 2 million degrees. The CSU is renowned for the quality of its teaching and for the job-ready graduates it produces. Its mission is to provide high-quality, affordable education to meet the ever-changing needs of the people of California. With its commitment to excellence, diversity and innovation, the CSU is the university system that is working for California. See www.calstate.edu.