JUNE 7, 2001

CONTACT: Mike Stepanovich, 661/664-2456, mstepanovich@csub.edu or Pat Wright, 661/664-2138, pwright@csub.edu


California State University, Bakersfield celebrates its 31st commencement Friday and Saturday. The Class of 2001 includes 1,453 graduates and they will be recognized at four ceremonies this year.

School of Education

The CSUB School of Education celebrates Commencement Friday, June 15, in the Icardo Center, 7:30 p.m. Dean Sheryl Santos will preside, and best-selling author, lecturer, and television producer Steven Jamison will address the graduates.

Wendy Woolsey Terrazas will be honored as outstanding student, and Julie English as outstanding alumna. Renuka Sethi will be designated professor emeritus of education.


Outstanding undergraduate degree candidates are:

Child Development - Catherine P. Putnam

Physical Education and Kinesiology - Zinnia B. Mares

Physical Education - Thomas M. Ferralli


Outstanding graduates by department are:

Bilingual/Multicultural Education - Robert Atkinson

Counseling Psychology - Nancy L. Keller

Curriculum & Instruction - Cheryl K. Cook

Educational Administration - Glynda S. Martin

Educational Counseling - Peter N. Rodriguez

Reading/Language Arts - Kathie J. Johnson

School Counseling - Cynthia Daugherty

Special Education/Bakersfield - Wendy Woolsey Terrazas

Special Education/AntelopeValley - Diane K. Sasaki


Outstanding credential candidates are:

Multiple Subject Credential/Bakersfield - Karen S. Hurtado

Multiple Subject Credential/Antelope Valley - Cheryl A. Piccirilli

Multiple Subject Credential PDS - Renee R. Wilkins

Special Education Credential Bakersfield - Debra L. Popejoy

Special Education Credential/Antelope Valley - Jimi C. Crampton

Single Subject Credential - Margaret Peggy Dewane-Pope

Pupil Personnel Services Credential - Manejé A. Elias


Faculty representative Kathleen Ritter will present students elected to national honor society, Chi Sigma Iota, including April Cox Dodd, Nancy L. Keller, Virginia B. Marks, Harriet R. Schaad, Lizette Ann Stinson, Hanh Duc Truong, and Connie Wallace.

James George, dean of undergraduate studies, will present students elected to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, including Jeremy Adams, Ellen Sullivan Ansolabehere, Janie A. Becerra, Terrie L. Bernardin, Adam Bluestone, Gloria A. Duarte-Smith, Tina M. Halamicek, Karen S. Hurtado, Kathie J. Johnson, Bradford Elwood Knickerbocker, Rebecca C. Meeks, Brian W. Parks, and William Raymond Sandoval.

The school is awarding 64 bachelor's degrees, and 212 master's degrees.

School of Humanities and Social Sciences


The School of Humanities and Social Sciences celebrate its commencement Saturday, June 16, at the Amphitheater, 7:45 a.m. Interim Dean Edwin H. Sasaki will preside, Kern County Superior Court Judge Jon Stuebbe will give the commencement address, and Martin Goni will be presented as the outstanding student of the school.


Outstanding graduates by department are:

Anthropology - Catherine D. Fabricius

Art - Shelton Benet Hammoudeh

Communications - Becky J. Zelinksi

Criminal Justice - Shelia Howard

Economics - Annette Jean White

English - Samuel Ryan See

Environmental Resource Management - Christina Yvonne Grider

History - Erin O'Donnell Miller

Liberal Studies - Karen S. Klein

Music - Martin Joseph Goni, Jennifer S. Maybee

Philosophy - Kimberly Martinez Navarro

Political Science - Laura Lee Arnold

Psychology - Laramee Lyda

Religious Studies - Matthew Ruiz

Sociology - Carol Lynn Cole

Spanish - Irma Olivas


Other honors include:

Dean's Awards for Outstanding Papers - Jean Clark Caudill, Valerie Walker Valenzuela

Wall Street Journal Award in Economics - Paul M. Kavanaugh

Charles Kegley Award in Philosophy and Religious Studies - Susanne Marie Langham

Thomas Watts Peace Foundation Award in Political Science and History - Christine J. Culbertson, Mark Alan Ferguson

Betty B. Albright Award in Sociology - Rosa Maria Ventura

Psi Chi Award in Psychology - Elizabeth Ann Hinkle, Brian C. Miller

Merit Scholars - Martin Joseph Goni, Katie Rachelle Greer


Forrest G. Wood will be conferred professor emeritus of history.

The school is awarding 780 bachelor's degrees and 17 master's degrees.

School of Natural Sciences Mathematics, and Engineering

The School of Natural Sciences Mathematics, and Engineering celebrates its first commencement Saturday in the Icardo Center, 1 p.m. Local businesswoman Sheryl Barbich is set to give the commencement address. Kamaljit Gill will be honored as outstanding student, and Robert Horton as outstanding professor.


Outstanding graduates by department are:

Biology - Jennifer L. Hanisits, Sean Miller

Chemistry - Kamaljit Gill

Computer Science - Paul Schoberg

Geology - Michael W. Quilliam

Mathematics - Kristy T. Svenson

Nursing - Nicole Delynn Rice, Grace M. Rivera Erickson


Carol Hall, math teacher at Bakersfield High School, and Candace Meares, chair of CSUB's nursing department, will be recognized as outstanding alumnae.

Dr. Thomas Banks, a local veterinarian, and John Hefner Jr., Fruitvale Junior High School principal, will be recognized Outstanding Friends of the School for service to community and university.


Other honors include:

Dean's Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Paper - Sara Draucker

Dean's Award for Outstanding Graduate Paper - Lana Smith

Student Research Competition - Alexander Candia, Jayson James Hardcastle

2001 Texaco Scholars - Alba N. Ruiz, Rick Schroeder


The new School of Natural Sciences, Mathematics, and Engineering will confer 146 degrees, including 127 bachelor of science, six bachelor of arts, and 13 master's degrees.

School of Business and Public Administration

The School of Business and Public Administration celebrates commencement Saturday in the Icardo Center, 6 p.m. With Dean Henry Lowenstein presiding, John Pryor will give the commencement address. Majid Mojibi will be honored as outstanding alumnus, and Hossein Bidgoli will be honored as outstanding professor.


Outstanding graduates by department are:

Accounting - Edie Wiederhold

Finance - Alicia Jordan

General Business - Stephen Peterson

Management - Bret Haney

Management Information Systems - Ryan Cabanas

Marketing - Michelle Bachoc

Public Policy Administration - Ronald Kunzler


Graduate honors go to:

Master of Business Administration - Gregory Cox, Robert Shipman

Master of Public Administration - David Mills

Master of Science in Administration, Health Care Management - Chesni Dixon Meske


Scholarship recipients will be honored:

Appraisal Institute, Bakersfield Chapter - Tony Treece

Elmer Karpe Memorial Real Estate - Adriana Belt

Don Hopkins Advertising - Mia Hendrick

Beta Gamma Sigma - Michael Plate

Jimmy D. Barnes Memorial - Adriana Belt, Kendra Dalton, Mia Hendrick, Corinna Rodriquez, Mayra Ruberte

Flossie Mae Smith - Jose Diaz, Gloria Garza, Louie Guerzon

Daniells, Phillips, Vaughan & Bock - Adriana Bock, Gloria Garza

Skeet Varner - Katrina Balbuena, Rosa Ocampo, Erica Rojas, Barbara Valkova


Beta Gamma Sigma, the national honor society for business, will induct Lisa Billingsley, Ryan Cabanas, Gregory Cox, Richard Dixon, Amira Fathalla, Daniel Gallegos, Martin Goni, Bret Haney, Cynthia Kirkman, Tracy Leonard, Khosrow Movahedi, Michael Plate, Robert Shipman, Suzanne teVelde, and Robert Welch.

The Financial Management Association will recognize Mark Eilerman, Dan Gallegos, Justin Hurst, Alicia Jordan, Greg Lamb, Cheryl Ripley, and Peter Wolleson.

The University Accounting Association will recognize Jeri Dunshee and Megan Peccianti.

The school is conferring 210 bachlor's degrees, three master of science degrees, and 31 master of business administration degrees.


# # #