President's Associates

The President’s Associates was established in 1970 by a group of community leaders who were dedicated to showcasing the success of California State College, Bakersfield, now referred to as California State University, Bakersfield (CSUB).

Today, The President’s Associates of California State University, Bakersfield continue to promote excellence at the University.

The greatest benefit of membership in the President’s Associates is the opportunity to make a positive and lasting impact in the lives of CSUB students. In honor of members' continued commitment to the President’s Associates, a special recognition dinner is held every spring.

This celebration connects members with student researchers, the faculty and staff who guide the research, and President Horace Mitchell.

Giving Levels

Giving to CSU Bakersfield has a positive and lasting impact on the community, especially by providing a quality educational experience to talented and deserving students. The President’s Associates Membership levels are as follows:

  • President's Circle $25,000 or more
  • Mentor $5,000 to $24,999
  • Advocate $2,500 to $4,999
  • Associate $1,000 to $2,499

Annual Recognition Dinner

Annual Recognition Dinner
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
The Gardens at Monji
5:30 PM Cocktail Reception
6:30 PM Dinner and Program
Each 2018 membership includes a reservation for two at the annual Recognition Dinner

The donor(s) understand(s) that 95 percent of all donations will directly support the intended purpose with the remaining five percent deducted as a one-time administration fee to defray the cost of fundraising activities and development services for the University.

Additional Information

For questions, assistance or more information about the President’s Associates, please contact Ellie Fergon by phone at (661) 654-3977 or by email at

Student Research Scholar Video

President Horace Mitchell, 2016 President's Associates Dinner

President Mitchell leads the 2016 President's Associates along with the Student Research Scholars and CSUB Faculty Mentors at the Recognition Dinner in the Dezember Reading Room.

President's Cabinet

Provost Jenny Zorn, Vice President for University Advancement, Victor Martin, Vice President for Business and Administrative Services, Thom Davis, CSU Chancellor Timothy White, CSUB President Horace Mitchell, Vice President for Student Affairs, Dr. Thomas Wallace, Chief of Staff to the President, Dr. Evelyn Young Spath