< Previous

Cal State Today logo, link to the table of contents

 Next >





AD is 4th CSUB Wang winner
By Jaclyn Loveless

CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed, left, and CSU chair of the board of trustees Murrary Galinson, right,presents CSUB Athletic Director Rudy Carvajal, center, with the 2005 Wang Family Excellence Award.Athletics Director Rudy Carvajal has joined three of his CSUB colleagues as winner of the prestigious CSU Wang Family Excellence Award for his outstanding efforts as an administrator.

Carvajal has been the athletic director for CSUB since 1972 and was honored for building the university’s program into one of the best Division II programs in the nation. CSUB has won 30 national championships in seven different sports and the 1998 national Sears Directors’ Cup for the overall excellence of its athletic program.

Carvajal feels privileged to have received the 2005 award. “It’s been a team effort and I’m pleased to be a small part of that,” he said.

Thanks to his strong student-athlete model and solid tutoring and advising support, CSUB athletes graduate at rates not only rivaling but also surpassing those of campus students in general. In turn, CSUB athlete-students are strongly engaged in community service, “giving back to Bakersfield,” in his phrase, as ambassadors for education.

Carvajal holds a bachelor’s and master’s degree in physical education from UC Berkeley and has created a legacy of excellence and service at CSUB. Some 200 of his students have become school and university coaches, his women’s swim team has taught hundreds of handicapped children how to swim, and his network of community volunteers has raised funds for facilities, such as the Icardo Activity Center and the Antonino Sports Center for Wrestling, that will train a new generation of athletes.

The Wang award was established in fall 1998 when then-CSU Trustee Stanley T. Wang provided $1 million to reward outstanding faculty and administrators. Annually, during a 10 year-period, four faculty members and one administrator throughout the CSU system will each receive $20,000 awards. 2005 marked the seventh year the awards have been given.

“Countless California State University faculty members have dedicated their lives to teaching students, expanding knowledge and serving both their community and their field of study,” said CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed. “We are all grateful to Trustee Wang for providing a way to recognize these individuals for all they do for CSU students.”

Wang, who served as a CSU Trustee from 1994 to 2002, is founder, president and chief executive officer of Pantronix Corp., based in Fremont. The company, incorporated in 1974, provides a range of manufacturing services for semiconductor components, subsystems and modules.

“Great professors and leaders such as these sow the seeds for the next generation of leaders. All of these individuals have a strong passion for helping students learn and providing them with the best education possible,” Wang said.

The Wang Family Excellence Award is administered through the CSU Foundation. Each campus president annually may nominate one faculty member from each of the four discipline categories. Each president also may nominate one administrator annually. The recipients receive the awards at the May CSU Board of Trustees’ meeting.

Carvajal is the fourth recipient from CSUB. Other winners were English professor Michael Flachmann, philosophy professor Jacquelyn Kegley and music professor Doug Davis.


< Page 2 | Table of Contents | Page 4 >