The Grapes of Wrath

Grapes of Wrath logo

75th Anniversary Celebration at CSU Bakersfield

Beginning in October 2013 and continuing throughout 2014, the School of Arts and Humanities at CSU Bakersfield will celebrate the 75th anniversary of Steinbeck’s classic novel about the Dust Bowl migration to California. An exciting schedule of public events will connect the cultural legacy of The Grapes of Wrath to the region across many forms: film, music, theatre, art, literature, history, philosophy, language and religion.

Our celebration involves collaboration with a number of public and private entities from around California and the United States, including Arts Council of Kern, Bakersfield Museum of Art, Bakersfield Symphony Orchestra, Bakersfield Youth Symphony, Beale Memorial Library, Kern County Museum, CalHumanities, Center for Steinbeck Studies at CSU San Jose, Kansas Humanities Council, and National Steinbeck Center of Salinas.

Please look through our events page and join us in celebrating our Kern County cultural history through the eyes of The Grapes of Wrath.

Free Speaker Series

75th Anniversary Video

John Steinbeck

John Steinbeck won the Pulitzer Prize in 1940 for The Grapes of Wrath. Awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1962 and the U.S. Medal of Freedom in 1964, he died in 1968.